O'Reilly House Museum

The O'Reilly House- Online

Welcome to the online home of O'Reilly House Museum. and to provide information regarding the history of the Placentia area. Placentia is a town of approximately 5000 residents on the Avalon Peninsula of Newfoundland. O'Reilly House Museum, located at 48 Orcan Drive, was opened to the public in 1989. Built in 1902, this Balustrade Queen Anne Victorian house has been restored to its original state of grandeur by the Placentia Area Historical Society. Originally called the "Brefery House", this home was constructed by W.J. Ellis for the William O'Reilly family. It was designated a registered Heritage structure on April 24, 1999 by the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Choose a Link

The House

The Magistrates


Walking Tour


For more information on the Placentia Area Historical Society, click here.

To go to Placentia: Uncovered, click here.

Placentia: The Early Years

In 1998, the Placentia Area Historical Society developed a website with Schoolnet Digital Collections. The site features Placentia's history up to 1811. The site is a definite must-see.


Contact Info
Placentia Area Historical Society
48 Orcan Drive
Placentia, NF
A0B 2Y0

Musuem Office (seasonal): 227-5568



The O'Reilly House- Online has been brought to you by:

Page design by L. Power